Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Deadline extended for the Hawley Award

Deadline extended for the Hawley Award, recognising innovative engineers

Published: 19/04/2016

The Engineers Trust logoThe deadline for applications for the 2016 Hawley Award, supported by the Engineering Council, has been extended by four weeks, to 18 May 2016.

The prestigious annual award, with a cash prize of up to £5,000 for the winner, is presented by the Worshipful Company of Engineers through their trust fund, ‘The Engineers Trust’ ( The Trust supports numerous annual awards and prizes to promote excellence among qualified engineers and those working towards registration as an Engineering Technician, Incorporated Engineer or Chartered Engineer.

The Hawley Award is presented for the most outstanding engineering innovation that delivers demonstrable benefit to the environment. Individuals can put themselves forward for the award but must have the support of a supervisor. Entries must be based on work undertaken after graduate or post-graduate degree work and must have at least reached a stage where a prototype or a proof of concept has been developed, with the expectation of commercial implementation. Candidates must be members of a professional engineering institution and within ten years of starting a professional career as an engineer or scientist in either academia or industry. Full details about award criteria, requirements and how to enter are here: Hawley Award

Barry Brooks, Hawley Award Co-ordinator and IET past President, says: “Every year the interview panel is impressed by the high standard of innovative projects put forward for the Hawley Award. We are looking for original projects that are on their way to becoming commercially viable products or systems with the potential to improve the environment.”

The submission deadline for the Hawley Award is now Wednesday 18 May, 2016. Shortlisted candidates will be invited to present to an award interview panel at the end on 31 May 2016. The winner will be presented with an engraved medal, certificate and cash prize at the Worshipful Company of Engineers Annual Awards Ceremony and Dinner on 19 July, 2016.