Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Engineering News

Deadlines are imminent for two awards to reward outstanding and innovative engineers

Published: 14/03/2016

Deadlines for applications for the 2016 Baroness Platt of Writtle Award and the 2016 Hawley Award, supported by the Engineering Council, are both due to close in April.

The prestigious annual awards, with respective cash prizes of £1,000 and £5,000 for the winners, are presented by the Worshipful Company of Engineers through their trust fund, ‘The Engineers Trust’ ( The Trust supports numerous annual awards and prizes to promote excellence among qualified engineers and those working towards registration as an Engineering Technician, Incorporated Engineer or Chartered Engineer. Shortlisted candidates for both awards will be invited to present to an award interview panel.

The Baroness Platt of Writtle IEng Award is in its fourth year in its present format and recognises the achievements of outstanding, newly registered Incorporated Engineers (IEng) across all disciplines. Candidates must be nominated by their institution, so we are asking institutions to put forward their most remarkable new IEng members and give them the opportunity to achieve this accolade and to boost their careers. Institutions can nominate up to five candidates who have achieved IEng status during 2015, and who have displayed outstanding ability to apply engineering knowledge, strength of commitment to the engineering profession, have excellent communication skills and have demonstrated managerial qualities.

The submission deadline for the Platt Award is Monday 4 April, 2016. Shortlisted candidates will be invited to attend an interview at the end of April 2016. Full details about award criteria, eligibility and where to send nominations are here: Baroness Platt of Writtle Award

Jon Prichard, CEO of the Engineering Council, says: “Incorporated Engineers make an essential contribution to all sectors of the engineering profession. Approximately 1,300 individuals achieve their IEng status every year and through the Baroness Platt of Writtle Award the Worshipful Company of Engineers are recognising and rewarding the most outstanding of these newly registered engineers.”

The Hawley Award is presented for the most outstanding engineering innovation that delivers demonstrable benefit to the environment. Individuals can put themselves forward for the award but must have the support of a supervisor. Entries must be based on work undertaken after graduate or post-graduate degree work and must have at least reached a stage where a prototype or a proof of concept has been developed, with the expectation of commercial implementation. Candidates must be members of a professional engineering institution and within ten years of starting a professional career as an engineer or scientist in either academia or industry. Full details about award criteria, requirements and how to enter are here: Hawley Award 

Barry Brooks, Hawley Award Co-ordinator and IET past President, says: “Every year the interview panel is impressed by the high standard of innovative projects put forward for the Hawley Award. We are looking for original projects that are on their way to becoming commercially viable products or systems with the potential to improve the environment.”

The submission deadline for the Hawley Award is Monday 18 April, 2016. Interviews for shortlisted candidates will be held in early May 2016. The winners of both awards will be presented with an engraved medal, certificate and cash prize at the Worshipful Company of Engineers Annual Awards Ceremony and Dinner on 19 July, 2016. 

For more information, please see the Engineering Council press release here